The Gift – More Than Just A Book


Yesterday, I received presents and was really happy about it that I decided to blog it here. It’s not something fabulous that would make my friends envious nor was it something that I could show off to my girlfriends. But honestly, it is one of the best gift I have ever received this year so far. In the hospital where I’m working, there is an Islamic Center which reaches out to staffs like us. It’s not that they will convince you to embrace Islam as a religion or something. Their aim is to introduce Islam as a religion of peace and somehow to correct the misconceptions about Islam and Muslims in general. I must say their efforts can’t be discounted. One of the many good things they’ve been carrying out and has become a part of their tireless effort is to distribute books and booklets both to Muslims and non-Muslim staffs free of cost.

It’s really a big help for someone who is searching for the real purpose of life and creation or even for those who only wants to fill their curiosity of what Islam is about. Books are made available in many languages to attend to everyone’s need to better understand the word of Allah which was originally revealed in Arabic.

Just in case you are new to the word Islam and Muslim. Here are few bits of info…

“Islam is the complete submission to the will of Allah. We Muslims believed that Allah is the One and Only God, the One who creates the heaven and the earth and everything that exists and that Muhammad (PBUH) is His last Messenger”.

 For the past few years, Islam has been negatively perceived given the destructive news reports flashing the TV screens and had been earning disparaging criticism from many people around the globe but Insha’Allah the light of Islam will shine through on everyone’s heart and realize that ISLAM IS A RELIGION OF PEACE.

Okay, going back to the books…

Actually, you can even find bookstands along the hospital alley and waiting areas for you to grab just in case you got bored with whatever it is that you are up to.

 In few more years maybe I can open a mini library out of the stuffs I collected courtesy of them but since I already did the honor of redistributing it to my friends and relatives back home who need it more than I do because of their limited resources to acquire such, that mini library is now out of the picture :)

I got three books from them yesterday. I got a Qur’an with English translation of the meanings and commentary. I already had one but it’s too heavy and big to carry it with me every day in my purse. But this time I got the smaller version which will make it practical to insert it in my bag along with all my other daily essentials.

Curious to know what is Qur’an?

Qur’an is the word of Allah which was revealed more than 1400 years ago and is the book of divine guidance and direction for humanity.

Two are booklets actually with same contents and the only difference is, one is translated in English while the other is in Tagalog. I took some shots to show it to you and here it is…

I and hubby have been looking for this book for quite some time now. We already had the original text in Arabic and one with Tagalog translation but we never had the one in English text so to finally have the copy really mean so much to us. It’s literally a dream turned into reality and I can’t be thankful enough for the said gifts. I don’t know how much it cost but price is not of concern because you can have an expensive book but wouldn’t gain anything even after you have read it from cover to back and would end up instead empty-minded about the whole thing.

This book is the Explanation of the Last Tenth of the Noble Qur’an as the title suggests but also contains crucial matters in the life of a Muslim. The book is so concise yet you will find all the very basics of Islamic knowledge needed by all of us along with the explanation of the last three parts (Juz) of the noble Qur’an.

Till here buddies. I will leave you now while I catch up with my new book :)

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I studied in Catholic school south of the Philippines where I met many Muslims who are now good friends of mine. I do believe that Islam is a religion of peace. :) I’m so happy you got the book you’ve been wanting to have for so long :)

    Reply
  2. Katrina

     /  February 23, 2012

    I like this

    Reply
  3. Hi Mich! Thanks for the kind words…it’s so sweet to hear it from you. I came from Zambo as well…small world huh?
    Keep writing and keep inspiring people to write :)

    Reply
  1. Gary Miller [Abdul-Ahad Omar] – Islam: The Nature of Belief « Islam Peace Equality

I would love to hear your thoughts.....

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,299 other followers

